Avril’s Guitarist, Evan Taubenfeld, steps out

With his upcoming solo release, Welcome to the Blacklist Club, Evan Taubenfeld is stepping out from the shadow of his former boss- multi-platinum artist Avril Lavigne. The album is pretty much what you would expect from one of her co-writers- polished, guitar driven pop. The first single is a co-write with Bleu- “Boy meets Girl,” and is a perfect soundtrack to a late summer day.

I had the opportunity to speak with Evan about this upcoming cd, and his appearance at the Fillmore in Charlotte on September 17. Unlike a lot of touring artists- this 25 year old is funny, self-deprecating and very personable…

Evan Taubenfeld

CH: Thanks for taking the time to chat- The tour you are about to embark on- is this your first solo trek?

ET: No, actually this is my second one. I did a similar tour a couple months back with a band called the Academy is. I got the rust out of my system and am now ready to return to rock greatness. Haha. I am sure it is anxiously awaited. Haha

CH: I have heard your single, “Boy Meets Girl” on Sirius XM several times. I was familiar with the Bleu version of this song- yours is very good, congrats on the pre-release radio play…

ET: Bleu McCauley-yeah… we have written together many times. He had this chorus, and this is very presumptuous of me, I said that is too good for you HAHA, I am taking it and fix it up, gonna make a better verse and make it my song.

CH: This single is on your solo debut, Welcome to the Blacklist Club. What is the official release date?

ET: Well, it is funny that you ask that. Originally it was August 4, and then I kept saying in interviews- August 25…cause I liked the ring of that better. HA. But I got something yesterday that said it was September 15, due to me totally procrastinating on approving the album artwork.

CH: I wanted to ask about your influences, as clichéd as that is. On the tracks I have heard, I get a lot of Rick Springfield…

ET: It is funny you say that. I made sure that everyone I worked with on this album, producers and co-writers, listened to “Jesse’s Girl” before we even got together. In terms of writing- the Beatles and the Police, obviously, because they are the best ever. I love pop! Everything from Kellie Clarkson, Avril, Ace of Base, Jordan Sparks, or David Archuletta…. I don’t care who it is, if it is a great song, I love it.

CH: Well, I share that philosophy with you. A great song is a great song no matter the artist. Best of luck with the debut cd, and this tour.

ET: Thanks a lot! Hope to see you there.

Evan Taubenfeld will be appearing at the Fillmore in Charlotte on September 17.

About stratoclay
father, husband, musician, employee, writer... in that order

One Response to Avril’s Guitarist, Evan Taubenfeld, steps out

  1. Pingback: Avrils Guitarist, Evan Taubenfeld, steps out - Evan Taubenfeld Bandaids | Your Friendly Neighbourhood Evan Taubenfeld Fansite!

Leave a Reply

